Library

Definitions

Allophone

An allophone is a speaker whose mother tongue is a language other than the official language(s) spoken in a given territory and who usually resides in this territory. For example, in French-speaking Switzerland, an allophone is a person whose mother tongue is a language other than French.

Literacy education

The term encompasses actions, policies and programmes aimed at eradicating or, at least, reducing the scope of the phenomenon of illiteracy.

Assimilation

(Cultural) assimilation is the process which a foreign individual (or a group) goes through in order to become part of a new social group. It is generally accompanied by language assimilation.

Asymmetry

In the interpreter-migrant-official authority relationship, there is typically a relationship which is not balanced insofar as the officials have the upper hand and the migrant is in a situation he/she does not control. Therefore, one speaks of an asymmetrical relationship.

Functional illiteracy

The state of an individual who, having learned to read and write, is unable to understand the meaning of a simple text.

Immigrant

According to the definition adopted by the High Commission for Integration, an immigrant is a person born as a foreigner abroad and living in a country other than his/ her country of origin. People born Swiss abroad and living in Switzerland are therefore not counted. Conversely, some immigrants may have become Swiss. The immigrant status is permanent: an individual continues to belong to the immigrant population even if he/she acquires Swiss nationality. It is the country of birth, and not the nationality at birth, which defines the geographical origin of an immigrant.

Integration

The integration process takes in all aspects of life of a society and involves as much the migrant as the host society. Current migration phenomena expose host societies to increasingly varied cultural influences. These influences may be addressed in a constructive manner, while maintaining coherence and social unity. Integration measures generally aim to maintain or restore the harmonious functioning of society and enable people who need support to eventually participate in the economic, social and cultural life of the country.

Community Interpreting

By this term, we understand  "the oral transmission of expressions formulated in a language other than the language used in the environment, while taking into consideration the sociocultural background of the speakers. For many allophones, presuppositions are not the same as those of a resident. The interpreter must therefore facilitate the communication by clarifying what is not said, that is to say sociocultural aspects which are connected with codes and cultural practices which can often create comprehension difficulties. These difficulties do not only come down to language problems in the strict sense of the term, but rather to an understanding of the context of the host country, on the one hand, and of the country of origin of the migrant on the other hand.

Mother tongue

The mother tongue refers to the first language a child learns. In some cases, when the child is brought up by parents or people speaking different languages, he/she can acquire these languages simultaneously, each of which can be considered as a mother tongue. He/she will therefore be bilingual.

Cultural mediation

Cultural mediators inform migrants and public service professionals, in terms which are understandable to them, about cultural differences, the operating rules of the Swiss political and social systems and various ways to behave. By informing them, the mediators build bridges between the migrants and educational and consultancy establishments. They contribute, for example, to the understanding between the doctor and his/her patient, between the teacher and the parents. Cultural mediators work in the organisation and carrying out of prevention projects, information sessions for migrants in the field of cultural mediation. Unlike traditional mediators, cultural mediators are not specialized in mediation in the case of conflict, they can prevent potential conflicts.

Mediator vs. community interpreter:

  • Mediator: a person who provides a link between the beneficiary and the interpreter;
  • Cultural mediator: he/she has the responsibility of managing the content and the interaction in a face-to-face situation; manages the interactions; 
  • Community interpreter: a person who works as an interpreter from one language to another and who, even if he/she may sometimes provide a contextualisation, is there to transpose what has been said from one language to another.

Translation

Translators are specialists of the language who translate written texts from one source language to one or several target languages. A translator may be specialized in various fields, such as the economy, health, the courts, etc.

©1998-2017 Migralingua|system mcart|Updated: 2013-07-15 09:00 GMT|Privacy | RSS|

Bibliothèque

Définitions

Allophone

Un-e allophone est un-e locuteur/trice qui, dans un territoire donné, a pour langue maternelle une autre langue que la ou les langue(s) officielle(s) et qui réside habituellement dans ce territoire : par exemple, en Suisse romande, un-e allophone est une personne qui réside en Suisse romande dont la langue maternelle est une autre langue que le français.

Alphabétisation

Le terme englobe les actions, politiques et programmes visant à éradiquer ou, du moins, diminuer l’ampleur du phénomène d’analphabétisme.

Assimilation

L'assimilation (culturelle) est le processus par lequel passe un individu étranger (ou un groupe) pour faire partie d'un nouveau groupe social ; elle s'accompagne généralement d'une assimilation linguistique.

Asymétrie

Dans la relation interprète-migrant-instance officielle, il y a typiquement une relation qui n’est pas équilibrée, dans la mesure où les officiels sont dans une position de force, et le/la migrant-e, quant à lui/elle est dans une situation qu’il/elle ne domine pas. On parle alors d’une relation asymétrique.

Illettrisme

Etat d’un individu qui, ayant appris à lire et à écrire, est dans l’incapacité de comprendre le sens d’un texte simple.

Immigré

Selon la définition adoptée par le Haut Conseil à l'Intégration , un-e immigré-e est une personne née étrangère à l'étranger et résidant dans un pays autre que son pays d’origine. Les personnes nées suisses à l'étranger et vivant en Suisse ne sont donc pas comptabilisées. A l'inverse, certain-e-s immigré-e-s ont pu devenir suisses. La qualité d'immigré est permanente : un individu continue à appartenir à la population immigrée même s'il devient suisse par acquisition. C'est le pays de naissance, et non la nationalité à la naissance, qui définit l'origine géographique d'un immigré.

Intégration

Le processus d’intégration embrasse tous les aspects de la vie d’une société et engage autant les migrant-e-s que la société d’accueil. Les phénomènes migratoires actuels exposent les sociétés d’accueil à des influences culturelles de plus en plus variées. Ces influences peuvent être abordées de façon constructive, tout en préservant la cohérence et l’unité sociale. Les mesures d’intégration ont généralement pour objectif de maintenir ou de rétablir le fonctionnement harmonieux d’une société et de permettre aux personnes qui ont besoin de soutien de participer à terme à la vie économique, sociale et culturelle du pays.

Interprétariat communautaire

Par ce terme, on entend « la transmission par oral d’expressions formulées dans une langue autre vers la langue d’usage dans le milieu ambiant, tout en prenant en considération l’arrière-plan socioculturel des interlocuteurs/trices  ». Pour beaucoup d’allophones, les présupposés ne sont pas les mêmes que ceux d’un résident. L’interprète doit alors faciliter la communication en explicitant des non-dits, c’est-à-dire les aspects socioculturels qui sont liés à des codes et des pratiques culturelles et qui peuvent souvent créer des difficultés de compréhension. Ces difficultés ne se résument pas seulement à des problèmes de langues au sens strict du terme, mais plutôt à une compréhension du contexte de la société d’accueil, d’une part, et du pays d’origine du migrant, d’autre part.

Langue maternelle

La langue maternelle désigne la première langue qu'un enfant apprend. Dans certains cas, lorsque l'enfant est éduqué par des parents ou des personnes parlant des langues différentes, il peut acquérir ces langues simultanément, chacune pouvant être considérée comme une langue maternelle. Il sera alors bilingue.

Médiation culturelle

Les médiateurs/trices culturels informent les migrant-e-s et les professionnel-le-s des services publics -en des termes qui leur sont compréhensibles- des différences culturelles, des règles de fonctionnement des systèmes politique et social suisses et des différentes façons de se comporter. En les informant, les médiateurs/trices jettent des ponts entre les migrants-e-s et les établissements d'éducation ou de conseil. Ils contribuent par exemple à la compréhension entre le médecin et son/sa patient-e, entre l'avocat-e et son mandant, entre l'enseignant-e et les parents. Les médiateurs/trices culturels travaillent à l'organisation et à la réalisation de projets de prévention, de séances d'information pour migrants-e-s dans le domaine de la médiation culturelle. A la différence des médiateurs/trices traditionnels, les médiateurs/trices culturels ne sont pas spécialisés dans la médiation en cas de conflit, ils peuvent prévenir d’éventuels conflits.

Médiateur vs interprète communautaire :

  • Médiateur/trice : personne qui met en lien le bénéficiaire et l’interprète ;
  • Médiateur/trice culturel : il/elle a la responsabilité de la gestion du contenu et de l’interaction dans une situation de face à face ; gère les interactions ;
  • Interprète communautaire : personne qui oeuvre comme interprète d’une langue à une autre et qui, même si elle peut parfois faire une contextualisation, est là pour transposer d’une langue à une autre ce qui a été dit.

Traduction

Les traducteurs/trices sont des spécialistes de la langue qui traduisent des textes par écrit d'une langue de départ dans une ou plusieurs langues d'arrivées. Un-e traducteur/trice peut se spécialiser dans différents domaines, telles que l'économie, la santé, les tribunaux, etc.

©1998-2017 Migralingua|system mcart|Mis à jour: 2013-07-15 09:00 GMT|Notre politique | RSS|